No lockdown but dozens of provinces requiring quarantine for travellers – here’s the latest

Apr 12, 2021 | 

At least 37 provinces in Thailand are requiring visitors from so-called ‘high-risk’ locations to undertake 14 day quarantine.

It is important to stress that no province is currently in lockdown, as has erroneously been reported on social media. In fact, government officials have repeatedly stressed that there are currently no plans for either provincial or national lockdown (this is correct at the time of posting).

However, people travelling to other provinces from Bangkok, Pathum Thani, Nonthaburi, Samut Prakan, and Nakhon Pathom may be required to undergo some form of quarantine or be asked to take a rapid COVID-19 test.

But it is also worth noting that some provinces are only requiring quarantine for travellers who visited high risk venues, such as The Krystal Club, Ekkamai Beer Bar, The Cassette Music Bar or other venues where clusters have been confirmed.

If you do still plan to travel, the advice is to seek the latest information regarding your destination province before you begin your journey.

The situation is fluid and is ever changing, so try to get as up to date information as you can prior to your departure.

Provinces currently enforcing quarantine as of 18:00, 11 April 2021:


Kamphaeng Phet, Chiang Mai, Tak, Nan, Phayao, Phetchabun, Phrae, Lamphun, Uthai Thani, Nakhon Sawan,  Uttaradit  and Phitsanulok.


Chaiyaphum, Nakhon Phanom, Bueng Kan, Buriram, Mahasarakham, Mukdahan, Yasothon, Sakon Nakhon, Nong Khai, Bua Lam Phu, Amnat Charoen, Udon Thani  and Nakhon Ratchasima.

Central, East and West:

Chainat, Saraburi, Singburi, Sakaeo and Lopburi.


Chumphon, Trang, Narathiwat, Pattani, Phang Nga, Songkhla, Satun

Meanwhile, in Prachuap Khiri Khan, which reported a total of 141 cases on Sunday, officials are only requesting quarantine from people who visited high risk venues

In Phuket, officials have said quarantine is not needed for arrivals from high risk areas.

In Surat Thani, quarantine is not required but people entering the province need to scan in the ‘Save Surat’ QR code.